Sheltered by Apathy Pt1

As soon as I graduated from my second technical course I was ready to go or so I thought. I thought that all I had to do was put a few resumes out there and the jobs would be rolling in. This, as you might imagine, was not the case. I decided to take the summer and rest from the crazy semester I had. I had the money to do this as I still lived with my parents, though they did charge me rent. In early August I began my search for a real job. I went to all the usual websites and canvased around a bit, I didn’t really put too much effort in because I thought that I was the “Best Ever” and everyone should be able to see it. You know the feeling, when you just sit back and watch the praise roll in. Turns out that I was just another dude with too little experience to my name. I did have a bit of job experience, I worked for a 7-Eleven from the end of high school to the end of my third year at the technical school. I had the usual paper route too but no one mentions that on a “real” resume right?

This mock job hunt I had turned into the longest year of my life. Suddenly I had nobody to tell me what to do. No Homework to complete. The entire purpose of my life was getting through school and getting through collage. When it was all over, I had no direction. It was like renting a new video game and discovering that there where no instructions in the box (before the internet came around anyway). I had to figure it out and the way I just skated through school, I hadn’t learned the most important lessons. I didn’t know how to talk to people, how to ask for something, how to learn on my own.

This was the loneliest year of my life. I barely spoke to anyone, not even my family. I had less the 5 interviews in the entire time I was looking for a job. It didn’t help that it was 2009 and everybody was still recovering from the crash in 2008. For about 6 months I retreated to my room to play video games and re-read my massive collection of sci-fi and fantasy books. I found some friends online playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. We stuck together through the different versions until I realized what an annoyingly same game CoD had become (that is a different story). It was in December of 2009, over one and a half years since I graduated, that I actually found a job. My boss was amazed that no one else had hired me. It did help that he was one of the coolest and most laid back bosses of all time. In the interview he went through the main interviewy things but when I told him my main past time was video gaming, he jumped on that. we talked about video games for at least an hour. The two of us where very similar. So I go the job working the mens department at a shoe store.

Through this time of unemployment, I lost contact with every single person I knew from high school and collage. Not because I cut ties, I just never called. I was the invisible person at events and hangouts. I was quiet to the point of not speaking for days on end. I was unable to carry a conversation and so I didn’t call anyone to just talk. I didn’t see a reason to try harder. I thought that being alone made me happy so I did not try to be in the company of others. This continued to until I met someone who would show me how truly wrong I was.

I stayed at the shoe store for all of 3 months, when all of the sudden, my father said that the company that he works for is hiring new people. He got me an interview in May and I was hired right then. I would be on the manufacturing floor building control units for Well Servicing and Well Fracturing rigs. I thought this would be a hell of a lot more fun than serving customers at a shoe store, so I quit my job and went to work wiring, soldering and generally manufacturing. I made a few friends with my new co-workers and we set off. It was the most rewarding job I had had. There was structure, everything had it’s place and there was always a best way to do things. I started out drilling holes in metal sheets called back-panels. I then moved to actually wiring units up and finally I was head of the soldering department as I was the only one in the shop who had any experience at it. My meticulous nature and a critical thinking skills allowed me to increase production and create a smooth flowing work environment.

At this point I was still very closed off from the rest of the world. I still lived with my parents though I could have afforded my own place. I just did the best job I could an then I went home, played video games, read books, watched TV or movies. Outside of work I didn’t really have any friends to speak of. Then a series of new hires gave me a team of 4 new people to watch over. One of them, for some still unknown reason, really tried to break me out of the shell I had built. While most of the other people I worked with through the years have had similar interests as me, only this one took on the role of forcing me to go out. He, unlike many of the other friend I had, decided that I needed (and I mean NEEDED) to get the hell out of my house and start doing things.

I thought that I could cover all of this in a single post but I am going to have to make it a 2 parter. Guess I had more to this story than I thought.

Leave a Reply

